Paola Cantalupo

Paola Cantalupo was trained at the Ballet School of La Scala in Milan, where she made her debut in the corps de ballet. She won the gold medal at the Prix de Lausanne in 1977 and the bronze medal at the USA International Ballet Competition in Jackson in 1979. She was hired by Maurice Béjart at the Ballet du XXè siècle and then, in 1980, by John Neumeier at the Hamburg Ballet. In 1984, she continued her career as a principal dancer with the National Ballet of Portugal, where she performed the great roles of the classical repertoire, including Giselle, Swan Lake and La Bayadère.

 

She then joined the Ballets de Monte-Carlo in 1988 where she was named Etoile the following year by HRH the Princess of Hanover. Her eclectic repertoire includes the major roles of the Ballets Russes (Scheherazade, The Firebird, Les Sylphides), works by G. Balanchine, A. Tudor, J. Kylian, W. Forsythe, R. Petit, as well as the major creations of Jean-Christophe Maillot (Romeo and Juliet, The Nutcracker Circus, Cinderella, La Belle).

 

The Italian critics awarded her the “Leonide Massine” Prize in Positano in 1991, the “Danza e Danza” Prize in Venice in 1993, and the “Carrière” Prize in 2001. She was named Knight of the Order of Cultural Merit of the Principality of Monaco in 2002. Holder of the “Certificat d’Aptitude aux fonctions de Professeur de Danse”, awarded by the French Ministry of Culture, Paola Cantalupo is regularly invited as a teacher or jury member in international competitions (Prix de Lausanne, Youth American Grand Prix, …). She is also Vice-President of the Association Danse Médecine Recherche (ADMR) and an honorary member of the International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS).

 

Since January 2009, she has been the Artistic and Pedagogical Director of the Ecole Supérieure de Danse de Cannes Rosella Hightower. From 2012 to 2017, she also held the same position for the Cycle Supérieur of the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Danse de Marseille. This double direction gave rise in 2017 to the creation of the Pôle National Supérieur de Danse Rosella Hightower.

 

On Sunday 5 December 2021, Brigitte Lefèvre, Artistic Director of the Cannes Dance Festival, had the honour of awarding Paola Cantalupo the distinction of Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. This sign of recognition from Roselyne Bachelot-Narquin, Minister of Culture, salutes a life dedicated to dance through an exceptional career.

News

OUR TALENTS,
A SOURCE OF SOLUTIONS

David David
Crush -  Art
ELLIOTT ROBERT-CANTONI
Crush -  Sport
Olivia Paroldi
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Gastronomy
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Sport
Crush -  Gastronomy
Lucie de Gennes
Crush -  Sport
Crush -  Music
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Fashion
Crush -  Gastronomy
Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Crush -  Gastronomy
emanuele balestra portrait cannes
Crush -  Gastronomy
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Crush -  Gastronomy
News

Cannes, the territory
positive impact.

I talk about it

communication tool kit

Download the kit !

BACK TO SITE

Well done !

The download will start in your browser.

BACK TO SITE

    I become an ambassador

    contact us

    Become an ambassador

    BACK TO SITE

    Well done !

    Your request has been sent.

    BACK TO SITE

      Become a partner

      Appropriation guide

      Ask for your appropriation guide

      BACK TO SITE

      Well done !

      The ownership guide is currently under construction. We will respond to your request as soon as possible.

      BACK TO SITE

        A "coup de coeur" ?

        Say it here

        A “coup de coeur” ?

        BACK TO SITE

        Well done !

        Your “coup de coeur” has been sent.

        BACK TO SITE

Paola Cantalupo s’est formée à l’École de Danse de la Scala de Milan où elle débute ensuite dans le corps de ballet. Lauréate de la médaille d’or du Prix de Lausanne en 1977 et de la médaille de bronze du « USA International Ballet Competition » à Jackson en 1979, elle est engagée par Maurice Béjart au Ballet du XXè siècle, puis, en 1980, par John Neumeier au Ballet de Hambourg. En 1984, elle poursuit sa carrière comme Première danseuse du Ballet National du Portugal où elle interprète les grands rôles du répertoire classique dont Giselle, Le Lac des Cygnes, La Bayadère.

Elle rejoint ensuite les Ballets de Monte-Carlo en 1988 où elle est nommée Etoile l’année suivante par SAR la Princesse de Hanovre. Son répertoire éclectique comprend les rôles majeurs des Ballets Russes (Shéhérazade, l’Oiseau de Feu, Les Sylphides), les oeuvres de G. Balanchine, A. Tudor, J. Kylian, W. Forsythe, R. Petit, ainsi que les créations-phares de Jean-Christophe Maillot (Roméo et Juliette, Casse-Noisette Circus, Cendrillon, La Belle).

La critique italienne lui a décerné le Prix « Léonide Massine » à Positano en 1991, le Prix « Danza e Danza » à Venise en 1993, et le Prix « Carrière » en 2001. Elle est nommée Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite Culturel de la Principauté de Monaco en 2002. Titulaire du Certificat d’Aptitude aux fonctions de Professeur de Danse, décerné par le Ministère Français de la Culture, Paola Cantalupo est régulièrement invitée comme professeur ou membre de jury dans des concours au niveau international (Prix de Lausanne, Youth American Grand Prix, …). Elle est aussi Vice-Présidente de l’Association Danse Médecine Recherche (ADMR) et membre honoraire de la International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS).

Alors qu’elle occupe depuis janvier 2009 la fonction de Directrice Artistique et Pédagogique de l’Ecole Supérieure de Danse de Cannes Rosella Hightower, elle a également assuré de 2012 à 2017, les mêmes fonctions pour le Cycle Supérieur de l’École Nationale Supérieure de Danse de Marseille. Cette double direction a donné lieu en 2017 à la création du Pôle National Supérieur de Danse Rosella Hightower.

Dimanche 5 décembre 2021, Brigitte Lefèvre, Directrice Artistique du Festival de Danse de Cannes, a eu l’honneur de remettre à Paola Cantalupo la distinction d’Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.
Ce signe de reconnaissance de Roselyne Bachelot-Narquin, Ministre de la Culture, salue une vie dédiée à la danse à travers une carrière exceptionnelle.

Portraits

nos talents, une source
intarissable de solutions

Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
emanuele balestra portrait cannes
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Actualité

Cannes, le territoire
à impact positif.

J’en parle autour de moi

kit de communication

Téléchargez le kit !

RETOUR AU SITE

une bonne
chose de faite !

Le téléchargement va se lancer dans votre navigateur. Merci pour l’intérêt que vous portez à la marque !

RETOUR AU SITE

    Je deviens ambassadeur

    contactez-nous

    Devenir ambassadeur

    RETOUR AU SITE

    une bonne
    chose de faite !

    Votre demande a bien été envoyée.

    RETOUR AU SITE

      Devenez partenaire

      Guide d'appropriation

      Demandez votre guide d’appropriation (en cours de construction. Nous répondrons à votre demande dès que possible)

      RETOUR AU SITE

      une bonne
      chose de faite !

      Le guide d’appropriation est en cours de construction. Nous répondrons à votre demande dans les meilleurs délais.

      RETOUR AU SITE

        Un coup de coeur ?

        C'est par ici

        Coup de coeur

        RETOUR AU SITE

        une bonne
        chose de faite !

        Votre coup de coeur a bien été envoyé.

        RETOUR AU SITE