With a fourth place in the world in the senior category, as well as world and European championship titles in the youth category, 22-year-old Lucie de Gennes and Matisse Pacaud, in the 470 mixed duet, now have their sights set on the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Their remarkable breakthrough at the highest level came in Stod Yam, Israel, on 29 October 2022, when they took fourth place with gold medal status in the senior mixed 470 World Cup (the name of the dinghy on which they excel as a pair). Despite their young age, the duo had already won the U23 World Championship title two months earlier, on Lake Balaton in Hungary. They went into this competition with nothing to lose and everything to gain.

This fine 4th place, just behind the duo of Camille Lecointre and Jérémie Mion (former world champions and Olympic medallists between them), reveals a promising duo full of ambition.

“I started sailing at the age of 12, taking lessons once a week at a small club down the road from my house. At the time, I was living in Lausanne, Switzerland. I had my first experience of Laser sailing on Lake Geneva. I immediately fell in love with the sport and started competing at the age of 14.

In 2018, during laser training in Cannes, I met Matisse Pacaud for the first time. Matisse wanted to switch to a different type of boat and suggested I give the 470 a try. From the very first training sessions, we got on really well and decided to embark on this new adventure together. After 2 years of training and competitions, we won the U23 world and European championships, which earned us a place in the French U23 team.

2022 was an exceptional year for us, with a 4th place finish at the senior world championships, motivating us to train even harder to achieve our goal: the Paris 2024 Olympics!

Lucie De Gennes

ucie et Matisse Champ Europe Vilamoura

The duo of Lucie de Gennes and Matisse Pacaud.

The duo of Lucie de Gennes and Matisse Pacaud came together in 2018. He at the helm and she managing the spinnaker and the balance of the boat, making the most of her 1.85 metres. The sporting love affair was immediate and the team formed by these 2 talented sailors is just at the beginning of a great story.

“Lucie and Matisse are putting Cannes and France on the map around the world. After winning the World title in Hungary and the European title in Portugal in 2022, the two members of the Yacht Club de Cannes have just won the European 470 Championship again, this time in Poland in the Under 24 category. This second consecutive victory confirms their meteoric rise and rewards their talent, hard work and self-sacrifice in reaching the world’s elite. Cannes is a land of champions and more than ever a city of sailing and water sports, with its history and identity deeply marked by the sea.”

David Lisnard, maire de Cannes

News

OUR TALENTS,
A SOURCE OF SOLUTIONS

David David
Crush -  Art
ELLIOTT ROBERT-CANTONI
Crush -  Sport
Olivia Paroldi
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Gastronomy
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Sport
Crush -  Gastronomy
Crush -  Music
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Fashion
Crush -  Gastronomy
Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Crush -  Gastronomy
Paola Cantalupo danseuse Cannes
Crush -  Dance
emanuele balestra portrait cannes
Crush -  Gastronomy
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Crush -  Gastronomy
News

Cannes, the territory
positive impact.

I talk about it

communication tool kit

Download the kit !

BACK TO SITE

Well done !

The download will start in your browser.

BACK TO SITE

    I become an ambassador

    contact us

    Become an ambassador

    BACK TO SITE

    Well done !

    Your request has been sent.

    BACK TO SITE

      Become a partner

      Appropriation guide

      Ask for your appropriation guide

      BACK TO SITE

      Well done !

      The ownership guide is currently under construction. We will respond to your request as soon as possible.

      BACK TO SITE

        A "coup de coeur" ?

        Say it here

        A “coup de coeur” ?

        BACK TO SITE

        Well done !

        Your “coup de coeur” has been sent.

        BACK TO SITE

Avec une quatrième place mondiale chez les seniors, ainsi que les titres de champions du monde et d’Europe chez les jeunes, Lucie de Gennes, âgée de 22 ans, et Matisse Pacaud, en duo mixte 470, ont désormais pour objectif les Jeux olympiques de Paris 2024.

Leur percée remarquable au plus haut niveau s’est produite à Stod Yam en Israël, le 29 octobre 2022, lorsqu’ils ont décroché une quatrième place qui avait la valeur d’une médaille d’or lors de la Coupe du monde seniors mixte de 470 (nom du dériveur sur lequel ils excellent en tant que binôme). Malgré leur jeune âge, le duo avait déjà remporté le titre de champions du monde espoir deux mois auparavant, sur le lac de Balaton en Hongrie. Ils ont abordé cette compétition sans rien à perdre et tout à gagner.

Cette belle 4e place, juste derrière le duo Camille Lecointre et Jérémie Mion (anciens champions du monde et médaillés olympiques à eux deux) révèle au grand jour un duo prometteur et plein d’ambition.

« Je débute la voile à l’âge de 12 ans, en prenant des cours une fois par semaine dans un petit club en bas de chez moi. A cette époque, j’habite en Suisse, à Lausanne. Je fais mes premières expériences en Laser sur le lac Léman. J’ai tout de suite un réel coup de cœur pour ce sport et je commence la compétition à 14 ans.

En 2018, lors d’un entraînement en laser à Cannes, je rencontre Matisse Pacaud pour la première fois. Matisse souhaitant changer de support, me propose de faire un essai en 470. Dès les premiers entraînements, le courant passe bien entre nous et nous décidons de nous lancer dans cette nouvelle aventure ensemble. Après 2 années d’entraînements et de compétitions, nous gagnons le championnat du monde et d’Europe U23, ce qui nous permet d’intégrer l’équipe de France U23.

2022 fut pour nous une année exceptionnelle avec une 4ème place au championnat du monde sénior ce qui nous motive à nous entraîner encore plus pour atteindre notre objectif : les JO de Paris 2024! »

Lucie De Gennes

ucie et Matisse Champ Europe Vilamoura

Le duo de Gennes et Matisse Pacaud.

Le duo Lucie de Gennes et Matisse Pacaud se forme en 2018. Lui à la barre et elle à la gestion du spi et de l’équilibre du bateau, mettant à profit ses 1,85 mètre. Le coup de cœur sportif est immédiat et l’équipe formée par ces 2 talentueux navigateurs n’est qu’au début d’une grande histoire.

« Lucie et Matisse font rayonner Cannes et la France à travers le monde. Après leur sacre mondial en Hongrie et européen au Portugal en 2022, les deux sociétaires du Yacht Club de Cannes viennent une nouvelle fois de remporter le titre de Champions d’Europe de 470, cette fois-ci en Pologne, des moins de 24 ans. Cette deuxième victoire consécutive confirme leur progression fulgurante et récompense leur talent, leur travail sérieux et leur abnégation pour atteindre l’élite mondiale. Cannes est une terre de champions et plus que jamais une ville de voile et de sports nautiques, par son histoire et son identité profondément marquées par la mer. »


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         David Lisnard, maire de Cannes

Portraits

nos talents, une source
intarissable de solutions

David David
Coup de coeur -  Art
ELLIOTT ROBERT-CANTONI
Coup de coeur -  Sport
Olivia Paroldi
Coup de coeur -  Art
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Coup de coeur -  Art
Coup de coeur -  Sport
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Coup de coeur -  Musique
Coup de coeur -  Art
Coup de coeur -  Mode
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Paola Cantalupo danseuse Cannes
Coup de coeur -  Danse
emanuele balestra portrait cannes
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Actualité

Cannes, le territoire
à impact positif.

J’en parle autour de moi

kit de communication

Téléchargez le kit !

RETOUR AU SITE

une bonne
chose de faite !

Le téléchargement va se lancer dans votre navigateur. Merci pour l’intérêt que vous portez à la marque !

RETOUR AU SITE

    Je deviens ambassadeur

    contactez-nous

    Devenir ambassadeur

    RETOUR AU SITE

    une bonne
    chose de faite !

    Votre demande a bien été envoyée.

    RETOUR AU SITE

      Devenez partenaire

      Guide d'appropriation

      Demandez votre guide d’appropriation

      RETOUR AU SITE

      une bonne
      chose de faite !

      RETOUR AU SITE

        Un coup de coeur ?

        C'est par ici

        Coup de coeur

        RETOUR AU SITE

        une bonne
        chose de faite !

        Votre coup de coeur a bien été envoyé.

        RETOUR AU SITE