Emanuele Balestra

He’s neither a chemist nor an alchemist – “I’m a barman”, says Emanuele Balestra, 37, without hesitation. He is Manager of the Bar Le Fouquet’s Cannes at Le Majestic. But his cocktails are the result of a long and adventurous journey that started many years ago in Italy, later passing through the gardens of Morocco. Born in Lombardy, Balestra brings flavours and aromas picked, grabbed or gleaned from the kitchen garden together to achieve brilliance in a glass. Seasons, scents, acidity levels, changing moods, herbs and flowers – they are all part of his creative universe. But what is he really thinking about? Extracting the essence. Just like a painter creating his colours, Balestra has his own palette of flavours in the form of extracts that follow the seasons.

For him, making a cocktail is a process that starts way ahead – a long period of preparation that involves separating out elements of taste and flavour. “Bringing them together requires intuition and creativity – you need a kind of laboratory.” A laboratory. So there we have it. Emanuele Balestra has his own special place under the eaves of the Hôtel Barrière Le Majestic: this is where he sorts, observes and inhales the scent of the herbs and flowers picked that same day. He loves this out-of the-way space, he says, “I can learn and pass on what I know”. He goes on to say: “I feel right at home here with the preserved antique tapestries that say so much about the Hotel’s history. It feels great working just beneath my tranquil roof garden.” The Hôtel Barrière Le Majestic has two kitchen – or herb – gardens. One alongside the terrace opposite La Croisette and the other one “on top of the roof”. Emanuele Balestra goes there every day to find inspiration for his creations.

Dehydrating, infusing, flavouring….changing plants into jellies, ice cubes, syrups and bitters. Marjoram, lemon balm, angelica, rhubarb, verbena, sage, Roman chamomile, Jamaican thyme, rose geranium…. Are we talking about a herbarium? No, just Emanuele Balestra’s daily companions. Back from the roof garden, he talks about “the salty sea breeze that wafts over the lemon balm up there”, helping with pollination and “softly embracing” the four hives “that offer their bounty of honey”.

Far from the familiar old “quickly shaken” or “quickly stirred”, a Balestra cocktail is the product of long, watchful patience. Take the one made with orange flower or fennel for example. Balestra the maestro adds flavours drop by drop with infinite wisdom, adding exuberance in moderation.

Before he even picks up a spoon, shaker, tall glass or flute, he takes his favourite implement – a pair of scissors, which he uses in the rooftop garden. Delicately selecting his ingredients – herbs, leaves –he extracts astonishingly nuanced flavours. Emanuele Balestra is a passionate man of few words who loves to share some of his secrets. The Sakychamp, for example (inspired by an association of flavours from Japan): Sake Bijofu Junmai (4cl) shaken with fresh marjoram and topped up with champagne (11cl). Or maybe spherical ice cubes with verbena “still at the project stage”.

News

OUR TALENTS,
A SOURCE OF SOLUTIONS

David David
Crush -  Art
ELLIOTT ROBERT-CANTONI
Crush -  Sport
Olivia Paroldi
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Gastronomy
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Sport
Crush -  Gastronomy
Lucie de Gennes
Crush -  Sport
Crush -  Music
Crush -  Art
Crush -  Fashion
Crush -  Gastronomy
Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Crush -  Gastronomy
Paola Cantalupo danseuse Cannes
Crush -  Dance
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Crush -  Gastronomy
News

Cannes, the territory
positive impact.

I talk about it

communication tool kit

Download the kit !

BACK TO SITE

Well done !

The download will start in your browser.

BACK TO SITE

    I become an ambassador

    contact us

    Become an ambassador

    BACK TO SITE

    Well done !

    Your request has been sent.

    BACK TO SITE

      Become a partner

      Appropriation guide

      Ask for your appropriation guide

      BACK TO SITE

      Well done !

      The ownership guide is currently under construction. We will respond to your request as soon as possible.

      BACK TO SITE

        A "coup de coeur" ?

        Say it here

        A “coup de coeur” ?

        BACK TO SITE

        Well done !

        Your “coup de coeur” has been sent.

        BACK TO SITE

Emanuele Balestra

Il n’est ni chimiste ni alchimiste : « Je suis barman », dit sans hésiter Emanuele Balestra, 37 ans. Il est directeur du Bar Galerie Le Fouquet’s au Majestic à Cannes. Mais ses cocktails sont le résultat d’un long et aventureux voyage qui a commencé il y a de nombreuses années en Italie, en passant ensuite par les jardins du Maroc. Originaire de Lombardie, Balestra associe des saveurs et des arômes cueillis, attrapés ou glanés dans le potager pour en faire des cocktails brillants. Les saisons, les parfums, les niveaux d’acidité, les humeurs changeantes, les herbes et les fleurs – tout cela fait partie de son univers créatif. Mais à quoi pense-t-il vraiment ? Extraire l’essence. Tout comme un peintre qui crée ses couleurs, Balestra possède sa propre palette de saveurs sous forme d’extraits qui suivent les saisons.

Pour lui, la création d’un cocktail est un processus qui commence très en amont – une longue période de préparation qui consiste à séparer les éléments de goût et de saveur. « Les réunir demande de l’intuition et de la créativité – il faut une sorte de laboratoire ». Un laboratoire. Nous y voilà. Emanuele Balestra a son coin à lui, sous les combles de l’Hôtel Barrière Le Majestic : c’est là qu’il trie, observe et hume le parfum des herbes et des fleurs cueillies le jour même. Il aime cet espace hors des sentiers battus, dit-il, « je peux apprendre et transmettre ce que je sais ». Il poursuit : « Je me sens chez moi ici, avec les tapisseries anciennes préservées qui en disent long sur l’histoire de l’hôtel. Je me sens bien de travailler juste en dessous de mon paisible jardin sur le toit ». L’Hôtel Barrière Le Majestic possède deux potagers – ou jardins d’herbes aromatiques. L’un le long de la terrasse en face de La Croisette et l’autre « au sommet du toit ». Emanuele Balestra s’y rend chaque jour pour trouver l’inspiration de ses créations.

Il déshydrate, infuse, aromatise…. plantes en gelées, glaçons, sirops et bitters. Marjolaine, mélisse, angélique, rhubarbe, verveine, sauge, camomille romaine, thym de Jamaïque, géranium rosat…. S’agit-il d’un herbier ? Non, juste des compagnons quotidiens d’Emanuele Balestra. De retour du jardin sur le toit, il parle de « la brise marine salée qui flotte sur la mélisse », qui aide à la pollinisation et « embrasse doucement » les quatre ruches « qui offrent leur abondance de miel ».

Loin de l’habituel « vite secoué » ou « vite remué », un cocktail Balestra est le fruit d’une longue et patiente attention. Prenez par exemple celui à base de fleur d’oranger ou de fenouil. Le maestro Balestra ajoute les saveurs goutte à goutte avec une infinie sagesse, ajoutant l’exubérance avec modération.

Avant même de prendre une cuillère, un shaker, un grand verre ou une flûte, il prend son outil favori – une paire de ciseaux, qu’il utilise dans le jardin sur le toit. Il sélectionne délicatement ses ingrédients – herbes, feuilles – et en extrait des saveurs étonnamment nuancées.  Emanuele Balestra est un homme passionné et peu loquace qui aime partager certains de ses secrets. Le Sakychamp, par exemple (inspiré d’une association de saveurs du Japon) : Sake Bijofu Junmai (4cl) secoué avec de la marjolaine fraîche et complété par du champagne (11cl).  Ou encore des glaçons sphériques à la verveine « encore à l’état de projet ».

 

Portraits

nos talents, une source
intarissable de solutions

Jerome de Oliveira patissier talent de cannes
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Paola Cantalupo danseuse Cannes
Coup de coeur -  Danse
Christian Sinicroni portrait
Coup de coeur -  Gastronomie
Actualité

Cannes, le territoire
à impact positif.

J’en parle autour de moi

kit de communication

Téléchargez le kit !

RETOUR AU SITE

une bonne
chose de faite !

Le téléchargement va se lancer dans votre navigateur. Merci pour l’intérêt que vous portez à la marque !

RETOUR AU SITE

    Je deviens ambassadeur

    contactez-nous

    Devenir ambassadeur

    RETOUR AU SITE

    une bonne
    chose de faite !

    Votre demande a bien été envoyée.

    RETOUR AU SITE

      Devenez partenaire

      Guide d'appropriation

      Demandez votre guide d’appropriation

      RETOUR AU SITE

      une bonne
      chose de faite !

      RETOUR AU SITE

        Un coup de coeur ?

        C'est par ici

        Coup de coeur

        RETOUR AU SITE

        une bonne
        chose de faite !

        Votre coup de coeur a bien été envoyé.

        RETOUR AU SITE